top of page

7 Resolutions for 2017

I’ve never really been a person who makes new year resolutions. I tend to have bursts of desire to improve myself throughout the year which eventually fizzle out after a month or so but, seeing as I have a blog now, I feel like publishing some personal targets online might make me feel more determined to stick to them. So here I go…

  1. Lose Weight – Classic new year’s goal, I know. I’m not hugely overweight or anything but I definitely put on a bit while I was at uni and I’d like to go back to how I was before – evenly toned, I suppose. I’d also just like to be generally fitter. If, by the end of this year, I could walk up the long hill by my house without getting out of breath, I’ll be happy.

  2. Get a job – I have a couple of BIG goals for 2017 and this is one of them. In June last year, I graduated from uni and I’m still unemployed. I took the decision to bide my time, build up my CV and only apply to jobs that I really want to do rather than just taking the first job that would have me. Thankfully, I’m very lucky in that I have parents who can support me while I take this time out but now I feel like it’s time to crack on with things. I want to feel like I’m contributing to something and to be more independent which leads me nicely on to my next big goal…

  3. Get a house – My second BIG resolution is to move out. Unfortunately, for obvious reasons, this can only happen when I fulfill resolution number 2 and become employed. My boyfriend lives with me and my parents currently, which is great because I get to see him every day, even when he’s been at work all day and gone to the gym in the evening, but we’ve been dreaming of having our own house for a couple of years now. We both agree that this is the year to finally do it.

  4. Get back into reading – Scaling things down a bit now, I want to get through the unread books patiently sat on my bookshelf. Uni-reading took up all my time to read for fun and it got to the point where I'd do so much reading for my course that I actually didn't want to spend my spare time reading something else. I used to read at any opportunity – while eating breakfast, on the loo, in the car (I wasn’t driving) – literally non-stop really. I once read 8 books in the space of 7 days and they weren’t thin little things either. I’ll probably never manage that again but I’d like to try.

  5. Get up earlier – This is a small change but something that I think could make a big difference. I’d just like to make the most out the day and get things done.

  6. Take on bigger craft/DIY projects – I’m a definite papercraft girl, cardmaking specifically, but I’d love to expand my crafting repertoire to more elaborate, household décor items. I’ve recently subscribed to the Docrafts Creativity magazine which has some great ideas that aren’t just greetings cards (although they do have some lovely card designs too) so that’s a good start! What I’d really love though, is to take on a furniture restoration project or something big like that.

  7. Make some videos – Finally, a goal for my blog. Maybe this year I’ll pluck up the courage and actually make a couple of vlogs. Maybe.

bottom of page