top of page

9 Reasons Why Everyone Should Do Zumba

Whenever I try getting into an exercise routine I tend to stick at it for a month or so but, eventually, I’ll fizzle out. Maybe I’ll get ill and have to leave it for a week. Maybe I’ll go on holiday and justify being lazy that way. Maybe it’s just miserable out, I’ve had a bad day and I don’t feel like it. But with Zumba, I haven’t fizzled out! This year I may actually be in with a chance of achieving my new year's resolution to get fit. I LOVE Zumba and I think you should too. Here’s why…

  1. It’s one of the best cardio workouts you can get – Seriously. It’s been scientifically proven. The American Council on Exercise (ACE) found that you will burn an average of 369 calories in an hour-long Zumba class. That’s more than most other fitness classes. The only classes in their study which burned more calories were kettlebell and bootcamp classes (and who wants to do those? I mean, talk about intimidating).

  2. Not just cardio – Yes, Zumba will help you shed the pounds but that’s not all! Zumba incorporates strength training so you’re building up your muscles at the same time!

  3. It doesn’t matter how fit you are – Another thing the ACE study found was that “both fit people and less-fit people are going to be getting an equally good work out.” and that’s because you can do Zumba at whatever level you’re comfortable with. Zumba instructors will give a low-impact option and then move onto a high-impact option for the people that want to take it up a notch but if that’s not your thing, you can keep it low.

  4. You don’t even realise how much you’re working out – I promise that you will leave a Zumba class sweaty. Not even just a little bit sweaty, you will have a good layer of sweat on you. But when you’re doing the dances, you’ll be concentrating on the routine and your form, not how tired you are.

  5. You’ll quickly tally up your weekly exercise quotaResearch shows that adults should be aiming for 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity or 75 minutes of vigorous aerobic activity a week. Zumba definitely counts as vigorous and classes usually last 45-60 minutes long. So, you’ll only need one class a week plus a regular gym workout and you’re done! Or, you could be an eager beaver and go to two classes a week and then you don’t need to worry about another boring gym session again! I’ll take the latter, please.

  6. You can make it your own – The instructors will teach you a routine made up of basic salsa, samba or reggaeton steps but they leave a lot of room for interpretation. They’ll probably encourage you to add your own flavour at certain points. So you don’t need to worry about doing the moves exactly like they do, you can make a mistake and just make it part of your routine.

  7. It introduces you to new music – Most exercise classes and gyms play upbeat chart music to get you going and keep you pumped. Now, that’s great, it wouldn’t be chart music if it wasn’t popular, but you can get that from listening to the radio in your car. Zumba brings you international music and I love that I get to hear something I probably wouldn’t listen to otherwise.

  8. It’s a social activity – I’ve been to a couple of classes with a friend and I often see other people as part of a group. Zumba class is a place where you can go, have a laugh together, and catch up on the week's gossip.

  9. It’s fun! – I saved the best till last. When you go to Zumba you’ll leave with a smile on your face! You won’t have to force yourself to go because it’s not a chore. As the official Zumba tagline goes; ditch the workout, join the party!

Do you do Zumba? Can you think of any reasons I've missed out? Comment with your thoughts below!

bottom of page